North Fork, Long Island

KKs Farm Stand

As the creator of EcoChi some might say that I am a pioneer. I believe that there is a universal consciousness and that we are
headed towards a more holistic way of living. I see it all around me and hear it from my clients, family and friends, I write about it, and speak about it.

If you are one of those people like me, who believes that there are no accidents then this unremarkable story  is just that-I was where I was supposed to be in that moment. On the North Fork of Long Island I stopped at a roadside farm stand called KKs and found a treasure.  The vegetables were the discovery and they were like no other produce I had ever seen or eaten. Each one boasted its own unique natural beauty and taste. These full flavored gifts of the earth surprised my taste buds.  The delightful,
light, multi green lettuces had a spicy personality and then there was the gentle sweetness of a lemon cucumber (round and yellow in color) never overwhelming, and always beautiful to look at on the plate.
This produce is organic-but not just organic. They are biodynamic vegetables that take organic to a whole new level. Biodynamic farmers believe that the soil, mother earth and even the universe have a life force. Utilizing this energy or Chi they plant their crops with intention and claim that they taste better, are more natural, and deliver more nutrients. These farmers use nature’s own pesticides and fertilizers and stay clear of artificial, chemical treatments. Wow! This is like “feng shui for farming” which is right up my alley, and I am not alone…
The east end of Long Island has a community of biodynamic farms, vineyards and even beekeepers! Nothing tastes
like raw honey from the Hampton’s Honey Company. Many of the gourmet restaurants out east both new and established are choosing to serve biodynamic produce, wine and honey whenever possible. Prices are higher than on traditionally grown fruits and vegetables but it adds so much to the food experience many are willing to pay the price. However there are some that
are skeptical.  Even though these growers are certified biodynamic-how different can the veggies and fruits taste? I invite you to explore this subject and send me a note with your opinions and experiences.
As a feng shui practitioner I work with energies. Some can be seen-like the arrangement of furniture and some energy cannot be seen. My clients’ stories speak for themselves and prove over and again that there is more to life than what we see.  I believe that there is a universal consciousness and that we are headed towards a more holistic way of farming, eating and living. May the essence of the foods of the season bring you health and joy!
